Board of Education


A Message From The School Board President

Our Board of Education consists of six elected members, with each representing the entire Gering Public School District.  We are dedicated to providing opportunities for the success of every student, and committed to the belief that the strength of a community lies within its public schools.

Together with the administration, our board develops goals and plans on an ongoing basis. Our focus is always on the future of Gering.

We appreciate and look forward to the continued support of our great community.

B.J. Peters, School Board President

Board Members

The six members of the Board of Education for Gering Public Schools are elected by registered voters of the school district.  Members serve four-year terms, and receive no compensation for their work.  The board is responsible for establishing policies under which the school system operates.  They must also act within the framework of rules set forth by the Nebraska State Board of Education and Nebraska and federal laws.  

Member elections are held every two years with our current Board of Education as follows:

     Mr. B.J. Peters


     Mr. Brian Copsey

    Vice President

     Mr. Brent Holliday


     Mr. Josh Lacy


     Mr. Brady Shaul


     Mrs. Mary Winn

Gering Public Schools
1519 10th Street Gering, NE 69341
Phone: 308-436-3125
Fax: 308-436-4301